Welcome!

Welcome to my blog! First things first, I did not come up with the name “Lucifer the Light-Bearer.” I took it from the name of a journal published by the anarchist Moses Harman from 1883 to 1907. In its pages, Harman and others advocated women’s rights and free love at a time when it was illegal to even discuss such subjects.

Although the name “Lucifer” is most often used now as another name for the devil of the Bible, it actually means “light-bearer.” As Harman explained:

The name Lucifer means Light-Bringing or Light-Bearing, and the paper that has adopted this name stands for Light against Darkness–for Reason against Superstition–for Science against Tradition–for Investigation and Enlightenment against Credulity and Ignorance–for Liberty against Slavery–for Justice against Privilege.

As you can see, I have shortened this motto and made it my own. I could think of no better way to express my personal philosophy, which combines individualist anarchism with strict metaphysical naturalism.

I hope that I can use this blog to argue as passionately for freedom, justice, peace and reason as Harman and others did in the pages of the original “Lucifer the Light-bearer”, and as countless others have in newsletters, newspapers, magazines and blogs for the last 200 years. 

The times may have changed, but the struggle–between “light” and “dark”, freedom and slavery, reason and superstition–has not.

Thank you for reading. If you’re interested in reading past blog posts of mine, I have blogged at Statelesspatriot.blogspot off and on since 2009 (but for various reasons I have decided to switch to a new blogging service and a new format).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

